Saturday, January 19, 2013




Samyama is the process of seeing your multi faceted self, from different angles – and ultimately realizing all of them. In Samyama, we start with Dharana on a particular Goal – and therefore, all wisdom pertaining to that Goal and it extensions -  comes to the Sadhaka in Samyama. We have seen that process in earlier sutras upto 3.45 – and we are continuing with the same further here.


tatah anima adi praadurbhaavah

kaya sampath tath dharma anabhighaatah cha

Ø  tatah = by that
Ø  anima = small in size like an atom
Ø  adi = and other such powers
Ø  praadurbhaavah = manifestation of
Ø  kaya = body
Ø  sampath = perfection
Ø  tath = their
Ø  dharma = characteristics, components
Ø  anabhighaatah = indestructible
Ø  cha = and

When the Yogi achieves mastery over the five elements, he also attains the ashta siddhis or the eight great attainments.

“anima, garima, laghima, mahima, praapthih, praakaamyam, eesathvam, vasithvam cha asta siddhayah” says, Amara Simha, who wrote the famed Amara Kosa.

The body and mind are both made up of the five elements. Our  daily intake of the parts of these five elements and the daily excretion of the same means, we are daily refreshing our bodies with new atoms of the five elements.

The yogi can become small as an atom, big as a elephant, or take small shapes and forms; show miracles, materialize anything from anywhere, bring any living being under his control, make non living things obey him, make others to like him – and so on.

He can become very light and fly in air or take any shape he wants.

We must understand that once we know that the body and mind are both consisting of - only the five elements arranged in specific ways, the yogi, who has absolute control on the five elements can re-order and re-arrange the body-mind in any other way, he wants. He can perform any deed possible for any other being on earth. He can even order any non-living thing – which also is only a combination of the five elements.

For others, these may seem big achievements. But, for the yogi, these are merely useful for furthering his yoga practices for the achievement of the final goal of Kaivalya.

Vs. 47

roopa laavanya bala

vajra samhanana kaya-sampat

Ø  roopa =  beautiful shape or appearance
Ø  laavanya = Charming
Ø  bala = strength
Ø  vajra = adamantine
Ø  samhanana = ability to withstand pressure or strokes
Ø kaya-sampat = the treasure of the body

When the Yogi has achieved control over the five elements and the asta siddhis, his, his physical body will gradually achieve rare beauty, grace, strength and a rare, adamantine hardness like the Vajra weapon of Lord Indra, the King of Gods.

This means, he will have a rare attraction unknown in any other normal human being. Many people used to sit before attained Yogis like the Buddha or Ramana Maharshi silently for hours and then go fully satisfied that their prayers and doubts have been fully answered.

Dakshinamurthi stotram says – Mouna vyakhya prakatitha prabrahma tatvam yuvaanam..
...chitram vata tharormoole, vruddhaa sishyaa gurur yuvaah; Gurosthu mounam vyaakhyaanam, sishyaasthu china samsayaah.

The best things are conveyed by the Guru through silent transmission and explanation. No words are used. Yet, all the doubts of disciples are completely clarified.

Knowing things happening at a distance or even seeing them, or knowing things to happen in future – are all common place, which Ramana, Ramakrishna or the Late Chandrasekharendra Saraswathi Swamiji of Kanchi Sankara Mutt – used to do with total non-chalance, as if it is just common place and nothing to think of.

 *  *  *  E  N  D  *  *  *

No comments:

Post a Comment