Monday, August 29, 2011




Vs.7 & 8

In previous verses, we saw that Ignorance, ego, likes, dislikes and love of life (and fear of death) are the five Kleshaas (sorrows). We also saw, why Ignorance is declared as the root of all these sorrows. These kleshaas may be in totally dormant state, or in attenuated state, or in low or high intensity states in different individuals at different times.

Then we saw that Avidyaa or Ignorance means – taking the impermanent as permanent, the impure as pure, sorrow giving things as happiness giving things and anatma (Non-self) as atma (self). Asmithaa is a direct offshoot of Avidya – and implies that we confuse the Drig (the witnessing self) and the Darsnam (the witnessed world / non-self ) as one and the same.

We shall now see what raaga(attachment) and dvesha (hatred) connote :


Sukha anusayee raagah

Ø  sukha = pleasure
Ø  anushayee = closely following
Ø  raagah = attachment

Raaga can be defined as attachment, desire, liking etc – for any thing.

Whatever thing, thought, idea, action, person or being – which give us pleasure, comfort or happiness – we develop attachment for such a thing, person etc.

We want to be near it. Along with our experience of pleasure, comfort etc that the thing arouses – our mind develops the feeling or experience of raaga. Pleasure or comfort is a close accompaniment to the feeling or experience of raaga in us.

We all want to go after and be nearer to such things to which we develop such attachment and towards which our minds have an innate raaga.

It is not necessary that all individuals will have raga for the same things. No. Each person may have raaga for a different person or thing. What gives happiness to one person may not give happiness to another. In fact, one may have raga for a thing for which another may have anger or hatred.

All wars, all battles, all enmities are because of this paradox that our likes and dislikes are not the same – but can be poles apart some times.

Raaga can also be in a dormant stage, or weakened stage, low stage or at a high intensity – like any other klesha.


Duhkha anusayee dveshah

Ø  duhkha = pain, sorrow, suffering
Ø  anushayee = closely following
Ø  dveshah = aversion, hatred

Dvesha or Hatred is the Opposite of Raaga or Attachment.

Some things, some persons, some events can give us the experience of sorrow. We hate such things and persons which / who give us sorrow. 

From the experience of sorrow – arises hatred for the thing / person that gives such sorrow.
Both likes and dislikes, or raaga and dvesha are two sides of the same coin. Some times, raaga can turn into dvesha and vice versa.

We must keep off from both attachment and hatred. It may or may not be possible to keep off physically from things which give us sorrow. But, we can mentally keep them away. We must be indifferent to them – or remain with non-attachment. 

Having said that both attachment and hatred are two sides of the same coin – we must also acknowledge that, most of the time, raaga for one thing automatically tends to generate dvesha towards its opposite.

The world is full of dualities.

If you attach raaga to one – dvesha will get attached to its opposite.

These likes and dislikes are direct off-shoots of asmitha – which itself arises from avidya.

Like raaga, dvesha can also be in dormant, attenuated (weakened), low or high intensity states at different times, towards different things.

We will see the last klesha, the abhinivesha in the next Post.

*   *   *   E  N  D   *   *   *

No comments:

Post a Comment